Testimonials

We try to show up to date reviews of the cottage whenever possible and they are taken from the Owners Direct website and as such are entirely  independent reviews of our cottage. Owners Direct ask the guests for comments and the owner of the property is able to reply. Sometimes the guest rating seems of a lesser value than the comments would seem to reflect but we don’t alter them in any way so that you get a genuine picture of the cottage. You can also see our replies to the guests at the Owners Direct site. Should any of the reviews prompt a question or two please don’t hesitate to contact us and we’ll do our best to answer as honestly as we can. It’s extremely important to us that you find a match for what you’re looking for in your holiday cottage as we don’t want you to be disappointed or mislead. Enjoy reading.

“Idyllic – Your own personal version of ‘The Holiday'”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Drake Cottage was truly a dream come true for my husband and me. The location is perfect, all within a 5-minute walk of all that the town has to offer, including multiple restaurants, the supermarket, fish and chip shop, etc. Then the house! This cottage has been renovated with such care for detail and character you can tell the owner really cares. The bathtub was heavenly, and now nothing quite compares back in America! For a relaxing, quaint getaway don’t hesitate to book Drake Cottage. We will be back.”

Reviewed by Isabella of Chicago USA  Date of Stay: December 2017

“Darling, Delightful Drake Cottage”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“We stayed here 6 nights and have been very comfortable. Drake Cottage is just a short walk from Saffron Walden’s Town Square and services, and on Tuesday evening we heard the most joyful church bells pealing! Turned out to be the St. Mary’s bell ringers practicing! A lovely place to stay.”

Reviewed by Doris of Maine, USA  Date of Stay: November 2017
“We loved it!”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Our four night stay exceeded our expectations.The cottage is a delight and it’s location is perfect for discovering the many attractions of Saffron Walden and nearby villages.We were very comfortable and we soon got used to ” ducking” under the low beams.The property is just as described and it’s quite clear that it’s much loved.

It was carefully prepared for our arrival. We found it to be well equipped and enjoyed cooking in the charming kitchen after buying fresh produce from the great little Saturday morning market.. (I think it’s held on Tuesdays too.)

 We were happy to spend a day exploring Saffron Walden and were delighted to discover beautiful gardens, a great local museum, 2 mazes, a labyrinth, and outstanding architecture at every turn.

What a happy few days we had where everything exceeded our expectations.

We are so pleased we found Drake Cottage and we hope to return one day.”

Reviewed by Aprille from York UK  Date of Stay: October 2017

“The only place to stay in Saffron Walden.”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Prepared by excellent communications between Deb Wheatley and ourselves beforehand, we enjoyed the fine holiday we expected.

The cottage’s great character, it’s position in the town, the friendliness of the town’s inhabitants, the fascinating Fry Gallery and the surrounding characterful and culturally rich villages, galleries etc.made the week very special!”

Reviwed by Edward F  Date of Stay: June 2017

“Gem of a property”
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“This is a gorgeous cottage! It is truly quaint but with a modern kitchen, ensuite and bathroom. Spotlessly clean! Lucy, the housekeeper was there to greet us, give us the key and show us around. The location is superb being minutes on foot from the town centre. Absolutely couldn’t fault this rental and would love to return for a longer stay. Would recommend to anyone. Superb!”

Reviewed by Charlotte of Switzerland Date of Stay December 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Lovely cottage, great location”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“A beautiful cottage, well maintained and well equipped. Everything you need for a stay and the character of the cottage adds to the charm.
Really helpful housekeeper, and thoughtfully left tea, coffee, milk and biscuits so we could have afternoon tea on arrival.
Can’t wait to go back to Saffron Walden and hopefully stay in the cottage, would definitely recommend.”

Reviewed by Jacki B of Australia Date of Stay August 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Absolutely fantastic”

“Drake Cottage is absolutely fantastic. Beautifully appointed and comfortable. The town of Saffron Walden is amazing, great shops, great food. Lots to see and do.”

Reviewed by Eugenia F of Italy  Date of Stay  June 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Extraordinary cottage”

“Thank you so much Deb for giving me the opportunity to stay in your beautiful cottage; the holiday was fantastic. I hope to come back soon to your extraordinary cottage.”

Reviewed by Antony H of The Netherlands Date of Stay June 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Modernised to the highest standards”

“Modernised to the highest standards, this property was ideal for our family of five plus dog. It is close to many places of interest and even the cold weather didn’t dampen our enjoyment.”

Reviewed by Kate B of USA Date of Stay May 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Wonderful stay”

“We had a wonderful stay, The cottage is lovely and nicely equipped. The location is within easy walking distance of groceries, pubs and shopping but it is very quiet. Saffron walden had so much to offer that we ended up taking fewer day trips than we had originally planned. Market days are not to be missed and everyone was very friendly.”

Reviewed by Dawn O of Australia Date of Stay January 2016 Guest Rating 5/5

“Wonderfully well appointed”

“Wonderful well appointed cottage very close to all amenities. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The cottage lived up to its description, with everything you could want being provided. It proved a great base for our trip to the UK and we will definitely be back. Thanks to Deb and Lucy.”

Reviewed by Luisa of Spain Date of Stay November 2015 Guest Rating 5/5

“In our Dreams”

We have stayed at Drake Cottage for almost 2 months and really feel like it is home. It is like we lived here a long time ago. Sometimes in our dreams we have this house and we want this lifestyle!

The children and I are really happy here and it has been the most important thing in our experience. When somebody is happy at home you want to stay here and we would like to spend more time here.

Lucy is so special, really nice and has been so kind to us. You made our stay and experience here so easy with a really warm welcome. You are always there to help us. Thank you.  We have had a lovely time here

Deb, you are so lucky to own Drake Cottage!

Reviewed by P Van T of the Netherlands Date of Stay August 2015 Guest rating 5/5

“Truly Great”

The cottage is truly great! All modern conveniences incorporated in such historical and tastefully decorated accommodation.Lucy welcomed us on arrival. She is a very friendly lady and explained everything in detail to us. An added bonus is that the cottage is tucked away in a quiet corner in Saffron Walden but just a few minutes away from the bustling centre. We love it!

Reviewed by Richard Date of Stay July 2015 Guest rating 5/5

“A Swan not a Duck”

Our family of 5 have just spent a week at this simply beautiful cottage. Everything you need to make your stay easy has been considered, location is great, the cottage is stunning (yes head height issues with some doorways but it adds to the charm). We are moving to Saffron Walden soon and our only regret is we probably won’t need to stay here again….but would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by Liz & Tom Date of stay June 2015 Guest rating 5/5

“Fabulous Cottage”

Fabulous cottage, superbly renovated and very well equipped. We had a wonderful stay just wish it had been for longer. Many thanks to owner Deb and housekeeper Lucy.

Reviewed by Rodney & Lindy G Date of stay: June 2015 Guest rating:5/5

“Beautiful Cottage”

Thank you so much for our stay at Drake Cottage; it is the most beautiful cottage and Saffron Walden is a pretty town, full of friendly, helpful people and we even went to a music recital at the church.

Reviewed by Richard & Paula G. Date of stay: December 2014 Guest rating: 5/5

“Fantastic cosy retreat”

We stayed at this fabulously furnished and equipped cottage for only four days and wish it had been a lot longer. The cottage is quirky and full of character and you soon get used to the low beams and stairs. Its one of the best equipped and furnished cottages we have stayed in and both Deb and Lucy deserve the highest compliments for the high standards of care and cleanliness. We would recommend this treasure to everyone who gets a chance to stay in the area and we will certainly be back if and when we can.

Recommended for: sightseeing, families with teenagers & romantic getaway.

Reviewed by: the Clarke family Date of stay: July 2014 Guest rating: 4/5

“Drake cottage”

We just had the most remarkable two weeks in Drake Cottage,our dream of an old English cottage came true at long last,the cottage is to die for all mod-cons and every thing to detail, We would recommend it to every one we meet who wants to spend time in that part of the world ,the town has every thing you need ,great eating places and great shopping,no need to go any where ,but we traveled every day to somewhere new and wonderful, We were lucky the English weather was kind also, Lucy the wonderful housekeeper  treats you with such kindness,and willingness to please could not have done more; she is to be commended. We love to call it Charlie Drake Cottage

Recommended for: Pet friendly, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers and romantic getaway

Reviewed by: Isobel, United Kingdom Date of stay: June 2014 Guest rating 4/5

“Authentic Period Cottage”

Drake cottage is a typical period cottage however, the attention to detail is remarkable, which made our stay so enjoyable. Modernised to a very high standard is a well equipped kitchen, open plan dining and through to a cosy lounge. Up a quirky staircase to a beautiful bathroom and two very tasteful comfortable bedrooms with crisp White Linen and one en-suite. There is also a small sun trapped BBQ walled garden area to the rear, which we made good use of. The cottage location is great, a short walk takes you to centre of town where you have all the shopping you could wish for and parkland on the door step. A great week and look forward to future visits.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing and romantic getaway
Reviewed by: redefrens, Netherlands Date of stay: May 2014 Guest rating:4/5

Saffron experience

The house has to grow on you and the longer you stay there the more you like it. The ground floor is perfect from the start. To get upstairs you have to acquire a certain climbing skill especially if trying to get a suitcase there. Once you have learned this and learned to avoid a beam that stretches across the corridor at 1.62 m you are all set to the enjoy the property to the full. And what a property it is: Well maintained, fully equiped and a caretaker to let you in the first time. The house is one of the oldest in Saffron Walden, is in the middle of town, has a parking place in front of it and the outside looks like a decor of a fairy tale. The cottage has brand new equipment. Even the chairs are confortable. Within Saffron Waldon all shops, sights and restaurants are within walking distance. Sometimes there is a hiil on your way there however. If you want to enjoy England as it should be enjoyed, go to Saffron Waldon. If you want to enjoy Saffron Waldon as it should be enjoyed, stay at this property.

Recommended for: Sightseeing

Reviewed by Gary Date of stay: April 2014 Guest rating 5/5

Superb Cottage

“A lovely time was had by myself and my girlfriend over the Easter weekend here. The listing description was 100% accurate regarding the location, layout and facilities. The property was spotlessly clean on arrival.The owner Deb and housekeeper Lucy were very friendly and nice, giving excellent customer service from the time of arranging the booking until departing the cottage. I would highly recommend this property to anybody thinking about booking a stay here. Many fine dining restaurants to choose from close by and I can honestly say I could find no fault with the weekend we had at this lovely cottage.”

Recommended for: Romantic getaway

Reviewed by: Peter W., United States Date of stay: April 2014 Guest rating 5/5

Drake Cottage

“It’s just like the picture showed. yet better. The most amazing cottage dating back to the 15th century. The cottage was recently remodeled, is well maintained and beautifully decorated. A great place to enjoy and relax. We came to visit our daughter now living in the UK and fell in love with the cottage and this market town. Everything, shopping, dining etc. was in easy walking distance from the cottage. We also explored the surrounding area and had lunch at the Cricketer in Clavering, Jamie Oliver’s parents place. Great food, reasonably priced. Deb is a great host. We will be back and trust that others will enjoy the cottage as much as we did.”

Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing, families with young children and romantic getaway

Reviewed by Peter M. London Date of Stay:December 2013 Guest rating 5/5

Christmas 2013

We returned yesterday from such a special week at Drake Cottage, we all adored your home and the way it was fitted out and decorated. Lucy was more than helpful and was on hand to welcome us on the 22nd, We were so happy there over Christmas. The restoration you have done is so authentic and in keeping with the cottage. 
In short, we were so sorry to leave, you have such a magical place there.”

Recommended for: family, couples and romantic getaway

Reviewed by: Kristine R Date of Stay: April 2014

Weekend getaway

“Seriously, I can honestly say that it is as good as it can be and there are no other improvements I would make or suggest. We have fallen in love with Drake Cottage. We look forward to using it as a Saffron Walden base in the future, bookings permitting, as I just know once word gets properly out you and it will be very popular. Thank you for your kindness.” 

Recommended for: weekend getaway, couples, romantic weekend